10 Secret Steps to Overcoming Paralyzing Prepper’s Block

by Todd Walker

Driving back from Florida yesterday we got blocked by a car with the entire back window covered with an advertisement. DRG and I tried to figure out what they were selling. Their tag line was “It’s a party in your mouth!” [Add your best guess below if you’d like.]

*wink, wink*

*wink, wink*

Curious, we passed the rolling billboard and noticed the headlamps were sporting eyelashes. Still, we couldn’t figure out the cute driver’s message.

We assumed it was some kind of party salsa for hip chicks. I swear it winked at me in my rearview mirror.

Okay, here’s the thing.

Ads advertise. Brick layers lay brick. Writers write. Plumbers plumb. Politicians poly-tick ~ for our demise. Lawyers – still not sure what they do – add ’em in with poly-ticks.

And….

Preppers prep.

I’ve experienced writer’s block before. Funny thing though, I’ve never had a case of plumber’s block. Plumbers just do the stuff that plumbers do. They plumb.

Ever see a plumber riding around in a plumbing truck wearing a suit and tie? Would you call him to crawl under your house and fix a leak? Not quite the image of plumbers in my mind. Besides, the suit wouldn’t show his plumber’s crack.

But the worst of all ‘blocks’ is prepper’s block

Ever been stricken with it?

Prepper’s block (PB), like writer’s block, is a load of crap. If you believe in this mystical funk, you’ll stop doing the stuff.

Common symptoms: You don’t have the money, time, skill, or energy to raise your prepping to the next level.

Alert! Alert! * That’s your BS detector is going off. * There’s no such thing as prepper’s block.

If you disagree and are dead-set that you have it – no worries, my prepping friend. I’ve got the secret cure.

My 10 secret steps to overcome paralyzing prepper’s block are…

  1. Prep.
  2. Prep some more.
  3. Prep even more.
  4. Prep even more than that.
  5. Prep when you don’t want to.
  6. Prep when you do.
  7. Prep when you have money.
  8. Prep when you’re broke.
  9. Prep every day.
  10. Keep prepping.

That’s the secret. Disappointed? Angry?

Prepping is not about wearing t-shirts and bumper stickers.

It’s about doing the stuff! One step at a time.

You can thank me in the comments. Or not. But whatever you do…

Keep doing the stuff,

Todd

P.S.

This list would make a great t-shirt or poster for the entrepreneurs among us. Just a thought. If I made you mad, leave a comment.

 

Categories: 180 Mind Set Training, Preparedness | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “10 Secret Steps to Overcoming Paralyzing Prepper’s Block

  1. Brad

    For me, prepping is a way of life now. There are so many things I know how to do now that I feel blessed to know, even if it is for nothing and it never hits the fan(however unlikely that is).
    For instance, I bought a used copy of the Little House Cookbook from Amazon for like $4. Once I got it I found it was a surplus library book. Once I began reading it, I found it was the real life recipes of Laura Ingles Wilder’s mother from the frontier. Yes, they did really exist. I found a recipe on how to make white potatoes like the ones we now get from the can. They are expensive for a small amount to buy them in the can but I can make them from a bag of potatoes now. This was always my most favorite thing my mother would make for breakfast sometimes. I am happy to share this with my children, but I dont HAVE to buy them in the can.

    Like

  2. Le Loup

    Excellent post.
    Regards, Keith.
    http://woodsrunnersdiary.blogspot.com.au

    Like

  3. Pingback: 4 Bad Habits of Highly Productive Preppers | Survival Sherpa

  4. Pingback: Random Acts of Prepping | Survival Sherpa

  5. Pingback: Civilized Sanity: Prepper Reppin’ | Eradica

  6. Todd, you hit it out of the park with this one man. I am surrounded by friends that fall prey to this mentality all the time and it drives me nuts. Everything you do in your day can and should revolve around prepping. Its as simple as looking at that can of pork and beans you just opened for lunch and thinking of all the different things you can reuse it for, or taking an everyday task and doing it without electricity/running water/ modern conveniences. There is no excuse.

    If you don’t mind I am going to repost this on my site (with attribution of course).

    Take care and keep sharing!

    Caveman

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.